Alberta – Silver and Bronze at Canadian Jr Goalball Championships

ASRAB would like to congratulate its Youth and Junior goalball players on their accomplishments at the Canadian Junior Goalball Championships in Brantford, Ontario, April 11-13, 2014. The Junior tournament is for athletes who are 20 years of age or younger. Teams from British Columbia, Alberta, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and the Host Province Ontario took part in the tournament.

The women’s Youth team, in their first competitive experience, brought home a bronze medal, defeating British Columbia 7-6 in the bronze medal match. This team consisted of Meaghan Hargrave, Caitlin Higgins and Shams Hamad. Credit for their success is shared with coaches Lorna Snow and Cathie Hossack.

The women’s Junior team took silver after an exciting and close game going into double overtime with the Ontario Junior Trilliums. Ontario jumped out to a quick 2-0 lead two minutes into the game. Alberta fought back and tied the game up at the half. A goal by Alberta early in the second half gave them a 3-2 lead. With two minutes left in the game, Ontario scored to tie the game and send it into overtime. Ontario scored late in the second overtime period to squeak out the Alberta Junior Woman’s team 4-3. Playing on this team was Ruby Soliman, Tanya Peterson & Brieann Baldock coached by Trent Farebrother and Darren Hamilton. Ruby Soliman was one of three women in the whole tournament to be named to the All-Tournament team.

For the men, Alberta’s Spencer Allen competed with two British Columbia athletes on a Team West youth team, helping them to a fourth place finish. Spencer earned the MVP title in their game against New Brunswick. Spencer gained valuable experience and has several more Junior competitions to attend.

Coach Lorna Snow said: “Coach Cathie and I are so very very proud of all 4 of our youth goalball players. Their defense was truly amazing and their shots were always on the net. Junior women’s teams across Canada have now taken note because Meaghan, Caitlin and Shams will be around for another 5 years. Spencer, as the youngest player at the tournament, will be a junior for another 7 years! Congratulations to each player.”

Way to go Alberta goalball players!

Posted in News